IM Zurab Javakhadze scored 6 points in seven rounds and was named ‘Texas State Champion’ in Irving over the Memorial Day Weekend. The 78th Annual Texas State and Amateur Championships brought over 150 chess players over the weekend. GM Rahul Srivatshav and FM Sharvesh Deviprasath both had 5.5 points. Photo above by Louis Reed.

Championship Standings

Alexander Mclaughlin Elliot won the Texas Amateur Championship with 6.5 points. Photo by Deborah Shafer.

Amateur Standings

This Texas Chess Association Event was organized by the Dallas Chess Club.

Photos from the Event

Photos below courtesy of James Clarke.