The 2018 South Texas Scholastic Chess Championships concluded in Edinburg on March 4, 2018.  Over 1,300 students competed in the three day event organized by South Texas Chess.

Complete Team Results | Complete Individual Results | US Chess Event Summary

Individual Champions

Below are individual winners of each section. First and second are listed when both had the same score.

  • NM Emily Q. Nguyen won the High School Championship with a perfect 7.0.
  • Wells Hero won the High School JV Championship with a perfect 7.0.
  • Aparna Yellamraju won the Middle School Championship with 6.5 points.
  • Rafael Rodriguez won the Middle School JV with 6.5 points.
  • Joaquin Razo won the Elementary Championship with 6.5 points.
  • Ivan A. Espinoza won the Elementary JV section with a perfect 7.0.
  • Sean V. Quintanilla won the Elementary Novice Section with 6.5 points.
  • Kaitlynn L. McNutt and Luis Miramontes finished on top of the Primary Championship section with 6.5 points.
  • Tomas R. Gonzalez and Oscar G. Buentello finished on top of the Primary JV section with 6.5 points.
  • Abram M. Lopez topped the Kinder/First section with a perfect 7.0