GM Jeffery Xiong, GM Julio Sadorra, and IM Cameron Wheeler each finished the 84th Southwest Open with 6.5 points in the 9 round International Section. WGM Carla Heredia won the Under 2300 section with 6.5 points in 7 rounds, with NM Kalin Nonchev in second with 6.0. Rachael Li and Shiva Kakarla finished on top of the Reserve section with 6 points each, while Joshua Feldman won the Novice section with 6 points.

In addition, FM Ben Li and NM Anish Vivekananthan earned IM norms, IM Craig Hilby earned a GM norm, and WIM Emily Nguyen earned a WGM norm at the tournament. In all, 394 players competed in the event organized by the Dallas Chess Club. The Southwest Open and is the longest-running chess tournament in Texas.