2007 Texas State and Amateur Championship

Update: See the Official Announcement on the dallaschess.com website.

May 25-28, 2007
7 Round Swiss, $8350 prize fund (b/175)
Hilton Americas Hotel
1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010

Championship Section

  • Open to players rated over 2000 (USCF or FIDE)
  • Rounds 1-3 G/90 with 30 sec increment
  • Rounds 4-7 G/120 with 30 sec increment
  • FIDE rated, but uses USCF rules
  • Prizes:
    • 1st, 2nd, 3rd: $1000-500-250
    • Under 2400: $300
    • Under 2200: $800-400

Amateur Section:

  • Open to players rated under 2000 or unrated.
  • Rounds 1-7 : 30/90 SD/60. (Round 1 of 3 day schedule is G/120)
  • Prizes:
    • 1st, 2nd, 3rd: $800-400-200
    • Under 1800: $600-300-150
    • Under 1600: $500-250-125
    • Under 1400: $500-250-125
    • Under 1200: $400
    • Under 1000: $300
    • Unrated: $200 (foreign unrated must play in Championship section)


  • 4-day: Fri 7:45pm; Sat 2:30, 8:30; Sun 10:00am, 4:00; Mon 9:00am, 2:30
  • 3-day: Round 1 Sat 10am, then merge with 4-day schedule
  • Up to two ½ point byes available if requested before round 2. Byes for both round 6 and 7 not permitted.

Entry Fees:

  • $69 if received by 5/17. $80 at site. Add $5 for CC phone entries.
  • $45 junior (under 19), senior (over 65), handicap. $55 if received after 5/17.
  • Mail entries (with payment) to:
    • Dallas Chess Club
    • c/o Susan Breeding
    • 7909 La Guardia Dr
    • Plano, TX 75025

K-12 Scholastic Event (Saturday May 26):

  • 5-round swiss (rounds 1-3 G/30, rounds 4-5 G/45)
  • Entry fee: $26 by 5/18, $39 after. CC phone entries add $5
  • Onsite registration 8:15-8:45am
  • Round 1 at 9:30am, rest ASAP with short lunch break
  • Sections: K-12 Championship and K-12 under 750
  • Prizes: Trophies to top 12 individuals, 5 teams in each section. Medals to plus scores who do not win a trophy.

Hotel Rates:

  • $85 (reserve by 5/11 and ask for chess rates)
  • 800-774-1500 or 713-739-8000

For more information, contact Susan Breeding, 214-632-9000.

Welcome to the new TCA website!

Dear TCA members and friends of Texas Chess:

Welcome to the revamped Texas Chess Association website! You will notice that the appearance of the site has changed dramatically. The new page layout will make the site simpler to navigate, and we are using a new publishing platform that will make it easier to add new content. You can expect to see much more frequent updates on the site, including tournament announcements, results, games, and back issues of Texas Knights magazine!

We have also moved the discussion forums to Google Groups®. This change, and the use of the new publishing platform, will allow TCA to eliminate the expense and complexity of maintaining its own web and database servers.

I hope you enjoy the new website and forums. Please feel free to send feedback – good or bad – to our TCA webmaster, Peter Kappler, at texaschess@gmail.com, or to me at msimpson@gmail.com.

Thanks, and enjoy the site!

Michael M. Simpson
TCA President

Texas Scholastic Championship draws 1,479 players

1,479 players participated in the 2007 Texas Scholastic Chess Championships in Dallas on March 17-18. Congratulations to the individual winners in the championship sections!

Warren Harper faces Francisco Guadalupe in the game
that ultimately decided the High School Championship.

Middle School Champions: Alex Balkum, Matthew Liu, George Qi.
(Not pictured – Grant Powell)

TCA Officers

Board of Directors

PresidentEddie Riosriose@nwcable.net
Vice-PresidentForrest Marlerfzmarler@gmail.com
SecretaryLori Balkumlori.balkum@austinchesstournaments.com
TreasurerBarb Swaffordbarbrounds@gmail.com
Texas Knights EditorJeff Frenchtexasknightsed@gmail.com
Region I DirectorClaudia Munozclaudia.munoz@ttu.edu
Region II DirectorTom Cranetcrane5000@gmail.com
Region III DirectorRobert Jonesrobjoneschess@gmail.com
Region IV DirectorRuben Arzagachessmaster@suncitychess.com
Region V DirectorFrancisco Guadalupeflguadalupe@aol.com
Region VI DirectorJohn P. Hyltinjphyltin@yahoo.com
Region VII DirectorEddie Riosriose@nwcable.net
Region VIII DirectorEd Guetzow
Region IX DirectorCharlie Vettermidlandchessclub@yahoo.com
Region X DirectorGeorge Rohrerenpassantchess2015@gmail.com
Past PresidentLakshmana Viswanath

Scholastic ChairVictor Floresvmjflores@gmail.com

Scholastic Committee

ChairVictor Floresvmjflores@gmail.com
Region I RepTim Dotytim.doty@wbu.edu
Region II RepBarbara Swaffordbarbrounds@gmail.com
Region III RepDavid Harveyvfwstockman@yahoo.com
Region IV RepRenate Garciarenategarcia1@gmail.com
Region V RepLucas Andersonlanderson@awty.org
Region VI RepForrest Marlerfzmarler@gmail.com
Region VII RepChris De Leoncoachcris@yahoo.com
Region VIII RepRemy Ferrarirrferrari@bisd.us
Region IX RepCharlie Vettermidlandchessclub@yahoo.com
Region X RepAnthony Guerraa.guerra87@icloud.com

Ethics Committee

ChairGary Gaiffeggaiffe@att.net
MemberEddie Riosretiredat15@outlook.com
MemberTony Mezamm4790@yahoo.com
MemberRobert Jonesrobjoneschess@gmail.com

Membership Committee

ChairBarbara Swaffordbarbrounds@gmail.com
MemberVictor Floresvmjflores@gmail.com
MemberRusty HarwoodRussell.Harwood@utb.edu

Bylaws Committee

ChairForrest Marlerfzmarler@gmail.com
MemberLuis Salinasluis.salinas@utdallas.edu
MemberDavid Harveyvfwstockman@yahoo.com

Other Positions

Texas Knights EditorJeff Frenchtexasknightsed@gmail.com
WebmasterJeff Frenchtexasknightsed@gmail.com
FacebookJeff Frenchtexasknightsed@gmail.com
Tournament Clearing HouseLori BalkumLori.Balkum@austinchesstournaments.com
Director of Procurement
Director of Junior Chess
Director of Postal Chess